Wright or Wrong? You Tell Me

Again I return to the topic of Reverend Jeremiah Wright. While going through my stats on my other blogs I noticed that a Marine had visited one of them. I did not find anything unusual in this as that particular blog is anti-war and I get many military types showing up to check out the various materials I have posted there.

Well, out of curiosity I decided to back-track this particular referral and see what his (or her ) blog was about. It turned out to be a Marines blog on Blogger. As with most military blogs they are pro-war and this one was no different. As is usually my practice I strip away the last part of a url after the .com so as to get to the homepage which I did in this case. I started going through the blog articles and was struck by the article Once a Marine By Gary Anderson May 9, 2008. It started off:
Jeremiah Wright Jr. had quite a month for himself in April.

JEREMIAH WRIGHT JR.! Is this who I think it is. I had to read on and see what this was all about. Sure enough it was about Jeremiah Wright better know as Rev. Jeremiah Wright.
Now he had my full attention. He goes on to speak of Wright and his having been in the Marines and then I read this:
Mr. Wright also alienated the United States Marine Corps. He hides behind the fact that he once wore the uniform of the Corps when people impugn his very questionable patriotism, while he compares the Marines who have served, and are serving, in Iraq to the Roman soldiers who crucified Jesus. This has caused many among even his former supporters to wonder what he was thinking.
It continued with the usual military hype found on most of these blogs which you can read for yourself here.

He then goes on to the political point, obviously Republican, where he attempts to defend Barack Obama, sort of, and the Marine Corp. Then he hit’s the nail on the head:

“One has to ask how Mr. Wright would have felt in Vietnam to be compared to a servant of Roman tyranny“.

Well, it gets Hotter yet in this kitchen! He goes on to make comparisons of Mr. Wright with Jim Baker and other faux men of the cloth!
That did it!
Many have been criticizing the Rev. Wright for a number of his sermons even calling him anti-American and unpatriotic yet I ask myself who are the ones saying these things? Are they speaking from the viewpoint of Black America? Here I speak from experience even though I am not Black but Hispanic and thereby have shared many of the injustices and experiences that Rev. Wright spoke of.

I have heard a number of the videos (of which I have several here ) looking for some fallacy
in what he said, regarding the black experience in America ( and elsewhere ) which, if looked at correctly, is in fact the Ethnic experience in America. On the one hand we are constantly being nurtured to be “ Politically Correct” while on the other hand, we as ethnic Americans KNOW the reality of our existence. We know that the so called American Dream is just that, a Dream! Sure some have made it but ask them what it cost ? Ask them the cost in sacrifice and lost dignity. As them the cost in swallowed pride and insults. As them the cost in human lives lost. Something that Bill Moyer said in one of the videos literally leaps out at me right now and is very fitting:

“A Nation capable of Greatness is also capable of Cruelty”

So for all of those who would criticize Rev. Wright you might want to ask what side of the fence are you speaking from? Is it from the side of White America that finds itself offended by truth or from the side of Black and Ethnic America that does not like to question or insult the status quo for fear of appearing un-American.
Well I will leave you with the Reverend Wright’s own words which can be heard on the video:

Governments Fail
Governments Change
Governments Lie

Rev. Jeremiah Wright

Bill Moyer’s interview with Rev. Jeremiah Wright Parts 1&2

(Full Interview )

Jeremiah Wright Explains His “God Damn America” Sermon

“When something is taken like a sound bite for a political purpose and put constantly over and over again, looped in the face of the public, that’s not a failure to communicate. Those who are doing that are communicating exactly what they wanna do, which is to paint me as some sort of fanatic or as the learned journalist from the New York Times called me, a “wackadoodle”…

Don’t forget to see the Martin Luther King Jr. April 4 1967 Riverside Church speech which the Rev. Wright referred to at the bottom.

Martin Luther King Jr. April 4 1967 Riverside Church speech

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Wright or Wrong? You Tell Me”

  1. Wright or Wrong? You Tell Me | Politics in America Says:

    […] Keyboard Politics – Politic Opinions At Your Fingertips wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt Again I return to the topic of Reverend Jeremiah Wright. While going through my stats on my other blogs I noticed that a Marine had visited one of them. I did not find anything unusual in this as that particular blog is anti-war and I get many military types showing up to check out the various materials I have posted there. Well, out of curiosity I decided to back-track this particular referral and see what his (or her ) blog was about. It turned out to be a Marines blog on Blogger. As with m […]

Leave a Reply

