The Tragedy of Doña Adolfina Villanueva

While discussing the matter of Paseo Caribe my wife told me the story of a woman whom I had not heard of. Her name was Adolfina Villanueva who lived in Mediania Alta, which I understand is in Loiza. What my wife recounted about what took place on February 6 1980 with this woman shocked me and the fact that nothing was ever done shocked me even more. What really got me was the fact that when I tried to find out the story regarding Doña Adolfina I had problems on the internet accessing any files about her! It was only when I included the word “Eviction” in Spanish that I finally got a page on Google with the story about her.

It is a very sobering story indeed about a grave injustice which to this day has not been corrected. The story has many parallels with what is currently going on in Paseo Caribe and the People!
For the full account ( in Spanish ) go to Indy Media here

This coming February 6 marks the 27th anniversary of her death.

Here is an excerpt of the article:

Son cimarrón a Adolfina Villanueva

Cuentan los que la conocieron que ella no era una débil criatura de trato dulce, ni una madre abnegada y mujer sufrida. Cuentan que fue una negra dura. Que por dura fue que tuvo los seis hijos que tuvo, por dura fue que levantó casa en aquellos predios de Medianía Alta que el 6 de febrero del año 1980, a las 10:00am, la Iglesia y el Estado le querían arrebatar. Que por dura fue que salió machete en mano a enfrentarse a los policías que cercaron su casa en la cual vivió con su marido, Agustín Carrasquillo, por 14 años, en terrenos que la familia Villanueva había habitado por casi un siglo y que ahora le querían arrebatar. Que a ella no la amedrentaban con poca cosa. Cuentan los que la conocieron que era una negra dura, Adolfina Villanueva. Más…

Here is what I found on YouTube on  noideapr.

Adolfina VillaNueva

You might also be interested in checking out this website

   Coalición Playa Para Todos 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “The Tragedy of Doña Adolfina Villanueva”

  1. carmen Says:

    Hi. I actually liked reading through your current writing!. High-quality material. I might recommend you to create blogposts even more regularly. Using this method, with this kind of a valuable weblog I believe you will probably rank higher in the search engines🙂 . I also subscribed for your Rss. Carry on this good job!

Leave a Reply

