On Tragedy and Hope, Utah Mine and More

I’m a chronic insomniac so I am usually up early to start my hunts across the net for links to important news articles for my readers.

This morning was no exception, got up around 1:30 a.m. and went through my usual ritual, turned on the computer, checked email, checked stats, checked latest news articles, the usual. This morning however I went on an unusual journey through Cyber Space. I had started by checking for news of the 6 Utah miners which I am afraid to say was not very good. There is still no sign of them and a third hole is being drilled. Hopefully there will be more news to report later.
Upon checking my stats I noticed a url for Sphere.com which I back tracked to see what was going on there. I saw the reference to my blog then noticed a headline that caught my eye:
Mine collapse illustrates influx of Hispanics into western US mining industry I followed it and was taken to a site I had not encountered before, Nuestra Voice .com which in turn lead me to another site: Dos Centavos.com . It was interesting to see what was being written about the west by another Hispanic, a Mexican I believe, and get a different viewpoint on things. I was not surprised at some of the feelings being vented there. This was the start of his blog:

It’s Because You’re Brown…

This has always been my fear: Getting picked up by the “migra” simply for being brown-skinned. It happened to 29-year old Pedro Guzman of California, even though he was born in LA. ACLU is on the case.

The title expresses the fear that many Hispanics live with on a daily basis be they Mexican, Colombian, Cuban, Puerto Rican, etc. ,etc. It also demonstrates what I have said on many occasions about Hispanics living in the U.S. ( and many other ethnic groups ) being treated as second or even third class citizens. You should all go over to these sites and read these articles, they are quite sobering.

My journey did not end there though. While I was reading the articles I got a Google Alert and immediately checked it. It dealt with Spc. Alex R. Jimenez and Pvt. Byron W. Fouty and lead back to the Seattle Intelligencer .com , to a forum to be exact. I had set up the alert in order to get the latest news on these two missing soldiers, though there never seems to be much mention of them and most of the news alerts I get is of old news and a number of times it took me right back to my own site! There I read something that surprised me regarding Pfc. Joseph Anzack Jr. According to what I was able to gather Pfc. Anzack is not listed as having been killed in action! Since I do not follow the listings at the DOD or the Pentagon I have to take his word for it that this in fact is the case and as such is a gross dishonor if in fact this is true. I am including some excerpts from the forum and links for those who wish to get involved with this issue.

 

From the Seattle Post Intelligencer .com/ forum

 

Posted by Witchguy at 6/12/07 4:34 p.m.
Two American soldiers of the 10th Mountain Division from Fort Drum, New York are STILL MIA in Iraq.

Three American soldiers were taken captive by Iraqi insurgents on May 12th. (THAT’S ONE MONTH AGO TODAY)

The body of Pfc. Joseph Anzack Jr., one of the missing three was found in the Tigris River. Anzack’s body had been mutilated by his captors.

Thus far; Associated Press has NOT given Anzack the honor of being listed among the dead from this war(s).

The other two soldiers, Anzack’s comrades, are still MIA and while CBS interrupted a soap opera with live breaking news about Paris Hilton going back to jail where she belongs, not a word is said about Spc. Alex R. Jimenez and Pvt. Byron W. Fouty the two MIA’s who were taken with Anzack.

I have strong emotional feelings for POW’s and MIA’s and I for one will not allow these MIA’s, or any others that may become that fate, to become forgotten.

BE PREPARED FOR A VERY LONG THREAD ON THIS TOPIC!

Posted by Witchguy at 7/27/07 12:32 p.m.
The names of those MIA’s are:

Spc. Alex R. Jimenez. He’s 25-years-old and from Lawrence, Massachusetts.

Pvt. Byron W. Fouty. He’s 19-years-old and from Waterford, Michigan.

Their comrade-in-arms whose body was found in the Tigris River a few days after being brutally murdered by his Iraqi captors was Pfc. Joseph Anzack Jr. of Torrance, California. Anzack was only 20-years-old.

All three were from the 10th Mountain Division out of Fort Drum, New York.

Pfc. Joseph Anzack Jr. has never been listed among the dead as published by Associated Press.

This is a rude slight that needs to be corrected.

Associated Press gets their leads from the Pentagon so it shouldn’t come as any great shock to suspect that the Pentagon screwed up.

But repeated letters and phone calls have been made to Associated Press’ headquarters at 450 West 33rd Street, New York, NY 10001 that they have had plenty of opportunity to do right by Pfc. Anzack.

Also; A new ‘box score’ item shold be established in the US Casualty List.

That Of: MIA’s——-2

Posted by Witchguy at 7/30/07 9:45 a.m.
The count is now up to 3,639 and still no ‘box score’ listing MIA’s in the Iraq War which stands at–2!

Also the KIA count of Americans killed in Iraq is short by one.

DEMAND A FULL ACCOUNTING OF ALL MIA’s AND KIA’s FROM ALL WAR(s)!
Posted by Witchguy
at 8/2/07 12:31 p.m.
Pvt. Byron W. Fouty and Spc. Alex R. Jimenez are not only Missing In Action but are missing from memory as well.

I think being missing from memory is a worse fate than Missing or Killed In Action.

 

Wow, I was dumbfounded when I read that! Pfc. Joseph Anzack Jr. is not listed as killed in action! Since Witchguy is so insistent and passionate about it I am assuming there is truth in his statement and as such find that a great dishonor has been done.

Finally there is an article by Gov. Bill Richardson, New Mexico, which is worth reading:

 

Richardson Outlines Health Care Plan

My readers might remember that he is the Governor who ordered the Flag be flown at half mast in New Mexico for one of the soldiers who was killed in the war.

Well, the roosters are crowing and it is time to get the day started. I hope this information and links help someone out there in dealing with the madness, speaking of which I see the spammers have begun early so I have to give my delete finger some Exercise!

Leave a Reply

